ATHENA ~ -OZ-

「ATHENA」
-OZ-

怯える夜が 震える声で
甘える僕に 寄り添う様に
問われる愛で 追われる僕を
いつまでも 繋ぎとめて

飛べる羽も 自由無き喜び
越える明日も 永久へ巡れと 儚く願った

空に消える夢 温もりだけ残し
ずっと変わらない 君への想い
何処へ行けばいい 小さな羽広げ
今も君を待ち続ける この場所で

凍えた夜が 擦れた声で
囁く僕に 嘲る様に
壊れた愛で 飼われた僕を
いつまでも 手放さないで

飛べる羽も 不自由無き苦しみ
越える明日も 永久へ断たれて 儚く散った

空に消える夢 温もりだけ残し
ずっと変わらない 君への想い
何処へ行けばいい 小さな羽広げ
今も君を待ち続けて 叫ぶ

空が消える日に 止め処なく零れた
二度と代えれない 君への想い
願い叶うなら 一秒だけでもいい
今も君を待つ世界に 微笑を

~♦~

‘ATHENA’
-OZ-

The frightening night, in a trembling voice,
fawns over me, chasing me with a questionable love,
forever attaching itself to me
as if snuggling close,

Wings that can fly yet are satisfied with no freedom,
As the passing tomorrow cycles toward eternity, they wished fleetingly

Dreams vanish into the sky, leaving only warmth behind,
My feelings toward you ever unchanging,
Where should I go?  Spreading small wings,
Even now I continue waiting for you in this place,

The freezing night, in a rasping voice,
whispers to me, enslaving me with a broken love,*
never loosening its hold,
as if mocking me

Wings that can fly suffer despite no restraints,
As the passing tomorrow severs from eternity, they scattered fleetingly

Dreams vanish into the sky, leaving only warmth behind,
My feelings toward you ever unchanging,
Where should I go?  Spreading small wings,
Even now I continue waiting for you, I scream

My feelings for you that can never be replaced
spilled over uncontrollably on the day the sky disappeared,
If my wish will come true, even for a second,
in this world where even now I wait for you, a smile…**

* Though I used the word “enslave” here to preserve the overall meaning, the actual Japanese word means “to keep as a pet”, but I couldn’t find a natural way to express that in English in this construction.
** Since there’s no verb at the end, it’s not clear whether the protagonist wants to smile, or he wants to see the smile of the person he’s waiting for.

Leave a Reply

